1 AN ACT 2 RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING 3 CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING PROVISIONS OF THE 4 5 ELECTION CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND 6 ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978. 7 8 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO: Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, 9 SECTION 1. 10 Chapter 240, Section 365, as amended) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read: 11 "1-15-15. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--CONGRESSIONAL 12 DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED. -- New Mexico is divided into three 13 congressional districts to be known and designated as 14 15 congressional district one, congressional district two and 16 congressional district three." SECTION 2. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 17 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new 18 Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read: 19 20 "1-15-16. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.--21 Congressional district one is composed of 22 Α. Bernalillo county precincts 2 through 23, 25 through 28, 30, 23 39, 68, 69, 78 through 80, 83, 84, 86, 87, 89, 100 through 24 103, 105, 107, 108, 110, 111, 113, 114, 116, 121 through 126, 25

SJC/SB 1 Page 1

1	128, 129, 131 through 133, 150 through 155, 161 through 189,	
2	191 through 197, 200, 202, 204, 207 through 226, 230, 232,	
3	235, 238, 241 through 246, 248, 249, 251 through 259, 261,	
4	263, 266, 271 through 287, 289 through 339, 341 through 366,	
5	368 through 393, 395 through 398, 400 through 598, 601	
6	through 603, 605, 608, 610, 613 through 616, 623 through 625,	
7	627, 634, 637, 640 through 651 and 656 through 686; Chaves	
8	county precincts 1, 2, 10, 12, 44 and 46; De Baca county;	
9	Guadalupe county; Lincoln county; Otero county precinct 56;	
10	Sandoval county precincts 1 through 5, 11 through 13, 28	
11	through 50, 52 through 76, 80 through 90, 92 through 94, 96	
12	through 117, 119 through 148, 150, 151 and 153 through 157;	
13	Santa Fe county precincts 15, 18, 73, 84, 85, 115, 125, 148,	
14	156 and 157; Torrance county; and Valencia county precincts 4	
15	through 6, 8 through 11, 14 through 16, 18, 22, 24, 28, 30,	
16	32, 36, 38, 45, 49, 50, 56 through 58 and 60 through 63.	
17	B. Congressional district two is composed of	
18	Bernalillo county precincts 1, 24, 29, 31 through 38, 40	
	through 67 70 through 77 81 82 85 88 00 through 00	

Bernalillo county precincts 1, 24, 29, 31 through 38, 40 through 67, 70 through 77, 81, 82, 85, 88, 90 through 99, 104, 106, 109, 112, 115, 117 through 120, 127, 130, 134 through 149, 156 through 160, 190, 198, 199, 201, 203, 205, 206, 227 through 229, 231, 233, 234, 236, 237, 239, 240, 247, 250, 260, 262, 264, 265, 267 through 270, 288, 340, 367, 394, 399, 599, 600, 604, 606, 607, 609, 611, 612, 617 through 622, 626, 628 through 633, 635, 636, 638, 639, 652 through 655 and

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

SJC/SB 1 Page 2 687; Catron county; Chaves county precinct 104; Cibola county; Dona Ana county; Eddy county precincts 9 through 21, 23 through 30, 32 through 40, 42, 44, 45, 47 through 52 and 54; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Lea county precincts 36, 41, 43, 50, 53 through 55, 58, 59, 62 and 71 through 74; Luna county; McKinley county precincts 26, 27, 29, 30, 64 and 66; Otero county precincts 1 through 55 and 57 through 66; Sierra county; Socorro county; and Valencia county precincts 1 through 3, 7, 12, 13, 17, 19 through 21, 23, 25 through 27, 29, 31, 33 through 35, 37, 39 through 44, 46 through 48, 51 through 55, 59 and 64 through 66.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

C. Congressional district three is composed of 12 Chaves county precincts 3 through 9, 11, 13 through 18, 20 13 through 25, 31 through 36, 40 through 43, 45, 47, 51, 52, 61 14 through 64, 71 through 74, 81 through 85, 90 through 95, 101 15 through 103, 105 and 106; Colfax county; Curry county; Eddy 16 county precincts 1 through 8, 22, 31, 41, 43, 46 and 53; 17 Harding county; Lea county precincts 2, 3, 8 through 35, 37 18 through 40, 42, 44, 51, 52, 56, 57 and 61; Los Alamos county; 19 McKinley county precincts 1 through 25, 28, 31 through 63, 65 20 and 67 through 71; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba 21 county; Roosevelt county; Sandoval county precincts 6 through 22 10, 14 through 27, 51, 77 through 79, 91, 95, 118, 149 and 23 152; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Santa Fe county 24 precincts 1 through 14, 16, 17, 19 through 72, 74 through 83, 25 SJC/SB 1

Page 3

86 through 114, 116 through 124, 126 through 147, 149 through 155 and 158 through 179; Taos county; and Union county."

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

21

22

23

24

25

SECTION 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (lst S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read: "1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the 2021 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of November 30, 2021.

B. A board of county commissioners shall not 12 create any precinct, combine precincts or adjust the 13 boundaries of any precinct in such manner that a precinct 14 lies in more than one congressional district. A county 15 precinct map determined not to be in compliance with this 16 subsection shall be rejected by the secretary of state and 17 returned to the appropriate county clerk with a written 18 statement setting forth those instances in which the county 19 precinct boundaries do not comply." 20

SECTION 4. Section 1-15-17 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 367, as amended) is amended to read:

"1-15-17. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--NOMINATION AND ELECTION.--One representative in congress shall be nominated and elected from each congressional district for voting

SJC/SB 1 Page 4

1	purposes. Ballots for representatives in congress shall	
2	designate the office as congressional district one,	
3	congressional district two and congressional district three.	
4	Only voters of each district shall be eligible to vote for	
5	the respective candidates of the district."	
6	SECTION 5. TEMPORARY PROVISIONCOMPILATION	
7	INSTRUCTIONSThe compiler shall remove from the NMSA 1978	
8	the provisions of Section 1-15-15.2 NMSA 1978 (copy of	
9	congressional districts established by Judgment and Final	
10	Order in Egolf v. Duran, D-101-CV-2011-02942 (1st Dist. Ct.,	
11	filed January 25, 2012))	
12		Page 5
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		