Enrolled

Senate Joint Resolution 12

Sponsored by Senator STEINER HAYWARD, Representative NOSSE; Senators DEMBROW, FREDERICK, GOLDEN, JAMA, LIEBER, MANNING JR, PATTERSON, WAGNER, Representatives CAMPOS, DEXTER, GRAYBER, HOLVEY, MARSH, MEEK, NERON, PHAM, POWER, PRUSAK, REARDON, REYNOLDS, SALINAS, SCHOUTEN, WILDE (Presession filed.)

Whereas there are many components that contribute to good health, including the ability to respond to sickness, disease and injury; and

Whereas achieving the goal of living a healthy life is impossible without the ability to access health care; and

Whereas health care should be available to everyone; and

Whereas the lack of available health care is a barrier to opportunity, success and quality of life; and

Whereas Oregonians should not be divided between those who can afford to be healthy and those who cannot; and

Whereas Oregonians should not be divided between those who have hopes and dreams and those whose sickness, disease or injury robs them of their hopes and dreams; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

PARAGRAPH 1. The Constitution of the State of Oregon is amended by creating a new section 47 to be added to and made a part of Article I, such section to read:

SECTION 47. (1) It is the obligation of the state to ensure that every resident of Oregon has access to cost-effective, clinically appropriate and affordable health care as a fundamental right.

(2) The obligation of the state described in subsection (1) of this section must be balanced against the public interest in funding public schools and other essential public services, and any remedy arising from an action brought against the state to enforce the provisions of this section may not interfere with the balance described in this subsection.

<u>PARAGRAPH 2.</u> The amendment proposed by this resolution shall be submitted to the people for their approval or rejection at the next regular general election held throughout this state.

Adopted by Senate March 18, 2021
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate
Peter Courtney, President of Senate
Adopted by House May 19, 2021
Tina Kotek Speaker of House