Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Shaheen, Hassan & Bipartisan Group of Senators Introduce Post-Traumatic Stress Resolution

U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), a senior member of the Senate Armed Services Committee, and U.S. Senator Maggie Hassan (D-NH) introduced a resolution yesterday with a bipartisan group of Senators led by Dan Sullivan (R-AK) and Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), designating the month of June as National Post-Traumatic Stress Awareness Month and June 27th as National Post-Traumatic Stress Awareness Day.

"For their service and sacrifice to our nation, we owe our returning service members the very best care available so they can heal and recover from traumas of war. Some of their wounds may be more visible than others, which is why it's imperative that those struggling have the support they need -- from health care professionals and our communities--and that we all work together to destigmatize post-traumatic stress and other mental health struggles facing our veterans," said Senator Shaheen. "We are sending a clear message to all our veterans that Congress is committed to delivering on our nation's promise to support our military members and their families, which includes providing the resources necessary to help veterans live healthy, successful and happy lives when they come home."

"Far too many of our servicemembers and veterans who sacrifice to defend our freedoms experience mental and emotional trauma as a result of their service," said Senator Hassan. "During the month of June, and throughout the entire year, we must continue working to ensure that our nation's heroes have the support and resources they need to thrive in civilian life, specifically those living with post-traumatic stress disorder."

Senators Thom Tillis (R-NC), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Ed Markey (D-MA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Chris Coons (D-DE), Steve Daines (R-MT), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Jon Tester (D-MT), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Bob Casey Jr. (D-PA), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), John Hoeven (R-ND), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Susan Collins (R-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Todd Young (R-IN), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Pat Leahy (D-VT), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Tina Smith (D-MN), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Jack Reed (D-RI), and Cory Booker (D-NJ) also signed on as cosponsors of the resolution.

Below is the full text of Senate Resolution 220:

Designating the month of June 2019 as "National Post-Traumatic Stress Awareness Month" and June 27, 2019, as "National Post-Traumatic Stress Awareness Day".

Whereas the brave men and women of the Armed Forces, who proudly serve the United States, risk their lives to protect the freedom of the people of the United States and deserve the investment of every possible resource to ensure their lasting physical, mental, and emotional well-being;

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top