Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Bipartisan Group of Senators Support Hong Kong Protestors

Senators Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas), Chris Van Hollen (D-Maryland), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Jeanne Shaheen (D-New Hampshire), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), Joe Manchin (D-West Virginia), Ben Sasse (R-Nebraska), Chris Murphy (D-Connecticut), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Angus King (I-Maine), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), and Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma) released the following statement of support for the millions of citizens protesting the Chinese Communist Party in Hong Kong:

"The extradition law proposed by Beijing loyalists in Hong Kong would allow political dissidents, minorities, and foreign travelers in Hong Kong to be spirited away to China's secret police on the mainland. The people of Hong Kong are assembling in the streets to resist this threat to their freedom and send a message to the Chinese Communist Party.

Hong Kong demonstrators know what happened in Tiananmen Square in 1989, unlike so many Chinese on the mainland. They know the risk they run by defying the Chinese Communist Party. The demonstrators' courage in the face of threats, police batons, and tear gas is an example for the world to follow. We support these demonstrators as they fight for freedom and call on Hong Kong and Chinese authorities to respect their right to peacefully protest," said the Senators.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top