Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The John Birch Society

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 48%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 68%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 55%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 53%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 23%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 38%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 23%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 17%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 21%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 50%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 23%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 24%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 45%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 18%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 28%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 55%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 65%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 13%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 27%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 26%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 38%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 28%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 50%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 53%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 55%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 48%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 30%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 28%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 23%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 25%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 20%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 23%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 33%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 20%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 18%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 40%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 38%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 46%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 40%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 20%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 45%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 15%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 25%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 41%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 28%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 28%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 28%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 26%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 23%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 24%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 20%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 28%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 45%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 64%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 28%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 55%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 83%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 48%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 15%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 21%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 38%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 38%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 15%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 58%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 20%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 55%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 20%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 15%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 25%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 23%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 15%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 33%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 15%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 21%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 79%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 30%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 68%
Neil Abercrombie 18%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 60%
Gary Ackerman 18%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 5%
Wayne Allard 75%
Thomas Allen 20%
Rob Andrews 32%
Bill Archer 58%
Richard Armey 55%
John Ashcroft 85%
Spencer Bachus 49%
Henry Scott Baesler 25%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 65%
Richard Hugh Baker 41%
Cass Ballenger 39%
James Barcia 40%
Bob Barr, Jr. 75%
Bill Barrett 44%
Roscoe Bartlett 65%
Joe Barton 63%
Charlie Bass 44%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 38%
Max Baucus 10%
Bob Bennett 58%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 18%
Douglas Bereuter 33%
Howard Berman 23%
Marion Berry 38%
Joe Biden, Jr. 15%
Brian Bilbray 38%
Michael Bilirakis 48%
Jeff Bingaman 23%
Rod Blagojevich 23%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 38%
Sherwood Boehlert 18%
John Boehner 46%
Kit Bond 53%
Henry Bonilla 45%
David Edward Bonior 30%
Sonny Bono 46%
Robert Borski, Jr. 37%
Leonard Boswell 23%
Rick Boucher 19%
Barbara Boxer 10%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 28%
John Breaux 25%
Corrine Brown 20%
George Brown, Jr. 20%
Sam Brownback 70%
Richard Bryan 18%
Ed Bryant 47%
Dale Bumpers 15%
Jim Bunning 44%
Conrad Burns 63%
Dan Burton 63%
Steve Buyer 41%
Robert Byrd 28%
Herbert Callahan 44%
Dave Camp 38%
Ben Campbell 53%
Thomas Campbell 60%
Chris Cannon 55%
Walter Holden Capps 21%
Julia Carson 23%
Mike Castle 25%
John Chafee 21%
Saxby Chambliss 50%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 67%
Jon Lynn Christensen 55%
William Clay, Sr. 17%
Eva Clayton 20%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 15%
Robert Clement 21%
Dan Coats 74%
Howard Coble 55%
Thomas Coburn 74%
Thad Cochran 40%
Michael Collins 59%
Larry Combest 58%
Gary Condit 46%
Kent Conrad 23%
John Conyers, Jr. 30%
Merrill Cook 48%
John Cooksey 47%
Jerry Costello 32%
Paul Coverdell 63%
Christopher Cox 70%
William Coyne 25%
Larry Craig 65%
Robert Cramer 28%
Philip Crane 62%
Barbara Cubin 58%
Randall Cunningham 48%
Alfonse D'Amato 40%
Patsy Ann Danner 44%
Thomas Daschle 10%
James Davis 18%
Thomas Davis III 25%
Nathan Deal 58%
Bill Delahunt 26%
Thomas DeLay 60%
Ronald Dellums 23%
Peter Deutsch 15%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 34%
Jay Dickey 51%
Norm Dicks 13%
John Dingell 18%
Julian Dixon 23%
Chris Dodd 15%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 43%
Calvin Dooley 18%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top