Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

About Vote Smart


Founded By

  • President Jimmy Carter
  • President Gerald Ford
  • Senator Barry Goldwater
  • Senator George McGovern
  • Mary Dent Crisp, Former Co-Chair of the National Republican Party
  • Senator William Proxmire
  • Congressman Bill Frenzel
  • Congresswoman Pat Schroeder
  • Congressman Bill Clinger
  • Governor Michael Dukakis
  • Congresswoman Geraldine Ferraro
  • Richard Kleindienst, Former U.S. Attorney General

Board Member Emeritus

  • Senator Edward Brooke
  • Senator Charles Mathias
  • Senator John McCain
  • Congressman Jim Leach

Active Board

  • Mr. Bill Adair, Founder of PolitiFact
  • Mr. Kenneth Adelman, Former Director of the U.S. Arms Control & Disarmament Agency
  • Ms. Jessica Arrigoni, Educator
  • Ms. Susan Brandes, Community Activist
  • Congressman William Lacy Clay, Jr.
  • Congressman Bill Clinger
  • Dr. Kyle Dell, Professor of Political Science
  • Governor Michael Dukakis
  • Mr. John Echohawk, Executive Director of the Native American Rights Fund
  • Ms. Adelaide Elm, Historian
  • Congressman Chaka Fattah
  • Senator Bill Frist
  • Dr. John Hagelin, Presidential Candidate for the Natural Law party
  • Mr. Brooks Jackson, Founder of
  • Ms. Sonia Jarvis, Former Executive Director of the National Coalition on Black Voter Participation
  • Ms. Marianne Jennings, Professor of Business Law
  • Congresswoman Barbara Kennelly
  • Dr. Kate Kenski, Professor of Political Communications
  • Mr. Henry Kenski, Professor
  • Mr. Richard Kimball, President of Vote Smart
  • Ms. Sheila Krumholz, Executive Director of the Center for Responsive Politics (
  • Congresswoman Barbara Lee
  • Mr. Ted McConnell, Executive Director of the Campaign for the Civic Mission of Schools
  • Ms. Irene Natividad, Former President of the National Women's Political Caucus
  • Mr. Philip Robbins, Attorney
  • Congresswoman Claudine Schneider
  • Congresswoman Pat Schroeder
  • Senator Gordon H. Smith
  • Dr. Brent Steel, Professor of Political Science
  • Mr. Jon Trachta, Attorney
  • Ms. Lucy Wilson Benson, Former President of the League of Women Voters

2019-2020 Executive Committee

  • Ms. Jessica Arrigoni, Board Chair
  • Mr. Richard Kimball, President
  • Dr. Kyle Dell, Vice President
  • Ms. Susan Brandes, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Ms. Adelaide Kimball
  • Mr. Jon Trachta
  • Dr. Brent Steel
  • Governor Michael Dukakis
  • Mr. Brooks Jackson
  • Ms. Irene Natividad
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top